top of page

Alto and soprano saxophonist Vincent Herring has thoroughly absorbed the teachings of classic stylists from Charlie Parker to Cannonball Adderley to John Coltrane, but Herring is no copycat. He’s found a way of expressing his own individuality by way of older styles, and he does so with flair and vigor. He’s also found a cadre of enthusiastic players who are just as enthused with the still-vital traditions as he is, including two jazzmen worthy of greater attention, trumpeter Jeremy Pelt and pianist Danny Grissett. With the snapping rhythmic drive of bassist and drummer E. J. Strickland behind them, Herring and company move through a program of smart originals, interspersed with a few well-chosen standards (“You Leave Me Breathless,” a feature for the leader’s full-blooded alto improvising, and “All God’s Children Got Rhythm”), as well as McCoy Tyner’s driving “Four by Five.” Released: 04/27/2004



  1. All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
  2. Citizen of Zamunda
  3. Hopscotch
  4. You Leave Me Breathless
  5. Four by Five
  6. Encounters
  7. Cassius
  8. The Walk Home
  9. Mr. Wizard

Mr. Wizard

    bottom of page